

# Sonoma County Planning Commission Actions

Board of Supervisors Chambers 575 Administration Drive, Room 102A Santa Rosa, CA 95403

PlanningAgency@sonoma-county.org

August 3, 2023 Meeting No.: 23-13

### **Roll Call**

Commissioner Carr, District 1
Commissioner Reed, District 2
Commissioner Ocaña, District 3
Commissioner McCaffery, District 5
Commissioner Koenigshofer, Chair, District 4

## **Staff Members**

Cecily Condon, PRMD Division Manager Levan King Cranston, Project Planner Doug Bush, Project Planner Robert Aguero, Project Planner John Mack, PRMD Division Manager Tasha Levitt, Administrative Assistant Jennifer Klein, Chief Deputy County Counsel

## **Planning Commission Regular Calendar**

Item No.: 1

Time: 1:05 PM
File: ZCE22-0014
Applicant: Peter Valtin

**Owner**: Thomas R. Morse III, Kristin Carol Moore, Trustees of the Moore Morse Trust

Cont. from: N/A

Staff: Levan King Cranston

Env. Doc: Statutory Exemption Public Resources Code Section 21080.17 and CEQA Guidelines

15282(h) (ordinances implementing Government Code Section 65852.2); Categorical Exemption: CEQA Guidelines Section 15305, Minor Alterations in Land Use Limitations)

Proposal: Request for a zone change to remove the Z (Accessory Dwelling Unit Exclusion) Combining

District from a 6.22-acre parcel

## Recommended

Sonoma County Planning Commission (PC) August 3, 2023 Page 2

**Action**: The Permit and Resource Management Department (Permit Sonoma) recommends that the

Planning Commission adopt a resolution recommending that the Board of Supervisors approve a Zone Change to remove the Z (Accessory Unit Exclusion) Combining District from the subject parcel to allow for the potential development of an accessory dwelling unit, and find the project exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) under Public Resources Code Section 21080.17 and CEQA Guidelines Section 15282(h); and, CEQA

Guidelines Section 15305.

**Location**: 1524 Dry Creek Rd., Healdsburg

**APN**: 089-040-001 **District**: Fourth

**Zoning:** LIA (Land Intensive Agriculture District) B6 20 (20 acres per dwelling unit density) and Combining

Districts for Z (Accessory Dwelling Unit Exclusion), F1 (Flood Way), RC 50/25 (Riparian Corridor with 50-foot setbacks for development, 25-foot setback for agriculture), RC 100/50 (Riparian Corridor with 100-foot setback for development, 50-foot setback for agriculture), SR (Scenic Resources), and

VOH (Valley Oak Habitat)

Action: Commissioner Carr motioned to recommend approval to the Board of Supervisors as

recommended by staff. Seconded by **Commissioner Reed** and approved with a 5-0-0 vote.

Appeal Deadline: N/A Resolution No.: 23-36

#### Vote:

Commissioner CarrAyeCommissioner ReedAyeCommissioner OcañaAyeCommissioner KoenigshoferAyeCommissioner McCafferyAye

Ayes: 5
Noes: 0
Absent: 0
Abstain: 0

Item No.: 2

Time: 1:20 PM File: ORD21-0001

**Env. Doc:** Categorical Exemptions Section 15307 for actions by regulatory agencies for protection of

natural resources, 15308 Actions by Regulatory Agencies for Protection of the Environment

Proposal: Amendments to Sonoma County Code Chapter 26 (Sonoma County Zoning Code

Regulations) and Chapter 25 (Subdivisions) including technical changes and updates to the

Tree Protection Ordinance, Riparian Corridor Ordinance, and the Minor and Major

Timberland Conversion Ordinances.

Recommended

Action: The Permit Resource and Management Department (Permit Sonoma) recommends that the

Planning Commission find the proposed action exempt from CEQA and adopt a resolution recommending that the Board of Supervisors adopt the attached ordinance (Attachment 2).

**Location**: All unincorporated parcels outside coastal zone

**APN**: Various **District**: All

Sonoma County Planning Commission (PC) August 3, 2023 Page 3

**Zoning**: Various

Action: Commissioner Koenigshofer motioned to continue the item to August 31st, 2023 at 1:05

PM. Seconded by **Commissioner Ocana** and approved with a 5-0-0 vote.

Appeal Deadline: Not applicable Resolution No.: Not applicable

Vote:

Commissioner CarrAyeCommissioner ReedAyeCommissioner OcañaAyeCommissioner KoenigshoferAyeCommissioner McCafferyAye

Ayes: 5 Noes: 0 Absent: 0 Abstain: 0