



# Sonoma County Planning Commission Actions

Permit Sonoma 2550 Ventura Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (707) 565-1900 FAX (707) 565-1103

> May 5, 2022 Meeting No.: 22-09

#### Roll Call

Commissioner District 1 Cornwall Commissioner District 2 Gilardi Commissioner District 4 McCaffery Commissioner District 5 Grady Commissioner District 3 Ocana, Chair

#### **Staff Members**

Scott Orr, Deputy Director Gary Helfrich, Staff Chelsea Holup, Secretary Jennifer Klein, Chief Deputy County Counsel Sita Kuteira, County Counsel

## **Planning Commission Regular Calendar**

Item No.: 1

Time: 1:05 pm

File: ORD21-0005 Vacation Rental Ordinance

Applicant: County of Sonoma

Owner: N/A

Cont. from: March 17, 2022 Staff: Gary Helfrich

Env. Doc: The Proposed Project will not have a significant effect on the environment and is exempt

from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to Section 15061(b)(3) of the

State CEQA guidelines.

Proposal: Staff recommends an update to the County's Vacation Rental Ordinance. The update

includes new program elements: Revision of Sonoma County Code Chapter 4 to establish a

Vacation Rental License program, update to the existing Performance Standards,

conversion of existing temporary caps and wildfire ban areas to permanent caps limiting vacation rentals to no more than 10% of single family residences within each area, and

additions to existing Vacation Rental Exclusionary (X) Zone in Sonoma Valley.

Location: Countywide APN: Various District: Countywide

Zoning: All Residential, LEA, RRD, DA.

Action: Commissioner Cornwall motioned to adopt resolution with two changes, one Cap be

changed to 5%, and existing vacation rentals in coastal zone not be required to get a zoning permit. Seconded by **Commissioner Grady** and approved as a recommendation to the

Board of Supervisors with a 4-0-1 vote.

Sonoma County Planning Commission Actions May 5, 2022 Page 2

Appeal Deadline: Not Applicable Resolution No.: 21-001

### Vote:

Commissioner District 1 Cornwall Aye Commissioner District 2 Gilardi Aye Commissioner District 4 McCaffery Aye Commissioner District 5 Grady Aye Commissioner District 3 Ocana, Chair Absent

Ayes: 4 Noes: 0 Absent: 1 Abstain: 0