

County of Sonoma Permit & Resource Management Department

Sonoma County Board of Zoning Adjustments Actions

Permit Sonoma 2550 Ventura Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (707) 565-1900 FAX (707) 565-1103

> December 8, 2022 Meeting No.: 22-12

Roll Call

Caitlin Cornwall, District 1 Pat Gilardi, District 2 Shaun McCaffery, District 4 Eric Koenigshofer, District 5 Jacquelynne Ocaña, Chair, District 3

Staff Members

Brian Oh, Division Manager Georgia McDaniel, Project Planner Cecily Condon, Division Manager Hannah Spencer, Supervising Planner Liz Goebel, Secretary

Board of Zoning Adjustments Regular Calendar

Item No.: Time:	1 1:05 PM
File:	UPE19-0070; MacLaren Tasting Room
Applicant:	Bennett Martin
Owner:	Steven & Heather Law
Cont. from:	Not Applicable
_ Staff:	Georgia McDaniel
Env. Doc:	Categorically Exempt
Proposal:	Use Permit to legalize an existing 688-square-foot standalone wine tasting room on a 1.45- acre property. The tasting room will serve local wines (produced offsite) by appointment only, operated by the landowners seven days a week, between the hours of 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wine tasting is limited to a maximum of two tasting appointments per day, with up to five people and one car per appointment. There are no employees, food and wine pairing, events, or amplified music proposed.
Recommended Action	: Staff recommends that the Board of Zoning Adjustments find the project categorically exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act and approve the Use Permit request to legalize the tasting room, subject to the attached Conditions of Approval.
Location:	211 Adobe Canyon Rd., Kenwood
APN:	051-040-018
District:	
Zoning:	DA B6 10, SR VOH
Action:	Commissioner McCaffery motioned to find the project Categorically Exempt and approve the use permit. Seconded by Commissioner Cornwall and approved with a 3-2-0 vote.

Sonoma County Board of Zoning Adjustments Actions December 8, 2022 Page 2

Appeal Deadline:10 daysResolution No.:22-10

Vote:	
Commissioner Cornwall	Aye
Commissioner Gilardi	No
Commissioner McCaffery	Aye
Commissioner Koenigshofer	No
Chair Ocaña	Aye

Ayes: 3 Noes: 2 Absent: 0 Abstain: 0